Joint Graduate School in Plant and Food Science


Our staff

Find below a list of staff from both The University of Auckland and Plant & Food Research who are currently involved in research projects at the Joint Graduate School in Plant and Food Science.

Staff at The University of Auckland


Name Department Research interests Email
Associate Professor David Christie School of Biological Sciences Membrane transport proteins, odorant receptors d.christie@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Karine David

School of Biological Sciences Plant hormones k.david@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Mohammed Farid Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Food process engineering m.farid@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Lynnette Ferguson School of Medical Sciences Interplay between genes and diet in the development of chronic disease l.ferguson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Mat Goddard School of Biological Sciences Wine science, wild and wine yeast ecology m.goddard@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Philip Harris School of Biological Sciences Plant cell walls p.harris@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Michael Hautus Department of Psychology Testing and modelling of auditory, visual, and flavour judgment m.hautus@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Bryony James Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Food materials science and microstructure analysis, food structure/property relationships, food texture and oral breakdown b.james@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Andrew Jeffs Institute of Marine Science Aquaculture, seafood and marine nutraceuticals a.jeffs@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Paul Kilmartin School of Chemical Sciences Wine aroma development, antioxidants and novel conducting polymer materials p.kilmartin@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Duncan McGillivray School of Chemical Sciences Biological membranes and membrane proteins d.mcgillivray@auckland.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Laurence Melton School of Chemical Sciences Microstructure of plant foods, interactions of food macromolecules l.melton@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Cliona Ni Mhurchu Clinical Trials Research Unit Public health nutrition, dietary interventions c.nimhurchu@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Mike Pearson School of Biological Sciences Plant viruses and mycoviruses m.pearson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Conrad Perera School of Chemical Sciences Chemistry and technology of food processing, development of functional food ingredients c.perera@auckland.ac.nz
Professor Joanna Putterill, JGS Director School of Biological Sciences Molecuar biology of flowering time j.putterill@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor Siew-Young Quek School of Chemical Sciences Lipid research, New Food Product Development, Food Waste Utilisation, Biodegradable/ Nanocomposites Food Packaging sy.quek@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Howard Ross School of Biological Sciences Bioinformatics h.ross@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Viji Sarojini School of Chemical Sciences Plant diseases, antimicrobial peptides, dietary amino acids and proteins v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz
Dr Arjan Scheepens School of Biological Sciences Functional foods, Neuro-active plant compounds, Drug discovery research

asch031@aucklanduni.ac.nz

Associate Professor Silas Villas-Bôas School of Biological Sciences Microbial physiology with focus on metabolic mechanisms in living cells s.villas-boas@auckland.ac.nz
Prof Brent Young Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Food process simulation and control, and process development and design b.young@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Co-appointed staff


Name Research area Research interests Email
Professor Andrew Allan Breeding & Genomics Plant genomics and gene regulation jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Robin MacDiarmid Bioprotection Plant viruses, antiviral mechanisms of plants jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Professor Richard Newcomb Food Innovation Molecular basis of chemical sensing jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr David Pattemore Sustainable Production Bee pollination jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Robert Schaffer Breeding & Genomics Fruit texture, ripening and cell wall, and role of ethylene jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Professor Max Suckling Bioprotection Chemical ecology of insects jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Associate Professor Matt Templeton Bioprotection Molecular basis of specificity of fungal plant pathogens jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Top

Staff at Plant & Food Research


Name Research area Research interests Email
Dr Sean Bulley Breeding & Genomics Vitamin C and primary metabolism in plants, plant allergens and plant biotechnology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Kevin Davies Breeding & Genomics Biosynthesis and function of plant pigments jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Mark Goodwin Sustainable Production Bee pollination jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Ken Marsh

Breeding & Genomics Genes controlling acidity and flavour in fruit crops jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Kerry Everett Bioprotection Applied plant pathology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Ashraf El-Sayed Bioprotection Chemical ecology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Hamish Brown Sustainable Production   jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Alla Seleznyova Sustainable Production Architectural analysis of plant growth and functional-structural plant modelling jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Graham Fletcher Food Innovation High pressure processing of seafood and produce jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Ian Hallett Food Innovation Microscopy, plant microstructure, fruit texture/softening jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Sara Jaeger Food Innovation Sensory science, consumer psychology and behaviour, product innovation jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Jason Johnston Food Innovation Fruit ripening and stress response jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Andrew Kralicek Food Innovation Insect and humal olfaction and taste, membrane protein structure/function, cell-free protein synthesis jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr William Laing Food Innovation Vitamin C biosynthesis in plants, nutrigenomics and Crohn’s disease jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Marco Morgenstern Food Innovation Food structure and texture measurement jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Dr Allan Woolf Food Innovation Postharvest physiology, disinfection, disinfestation, HPP/UHP, avocado and olive oil jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Top