Joint Graduate School in Plant and Food Science


Our staff

Find below a list of staff from both The University of Auckland and Plant & Food Research who are currently involved in research projects at the Joint Graduate School in Plant and Food Science.

Staff at The University of Auckland


Department Name Research interests Email
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Prof Murat Balaban Food processing, automation of quality evaluation m.balaban@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof David Christie Membrane transport proteins, odorant receptors d.christie@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Karine David Plant hormones k.david@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Prof Mohammed Farid Food process engineering m.farid@auckland.ac.nz
School of Medical Sciences Prof Lynnette Ferguson Interplay between genes and diet in the development of chronic disease l.ferguson@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Damien Fleetwood Plant-associated fungi d.fleetwood@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Mat Goddard Wine science, wild and wine yeast ecology m.goddard@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Prof Philip Harris Plant cell walls p.harris@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Psychology Dr Michael Hautus Testing and modelling of auditory, visual, and flavour judgment m.hautus@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Assoc Prof Yacine Hemar Physical-chemical characterisation of food systems and their mixtures in solution, gel or emulsion states y.hemar@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Dr Bryony James Food materials science and microstructure analysis, food structure/property relationships, food texture and oral breakdown b.james@auckland.ac.nz
Institute of Marine Science Dr Andrew Jeffs Aquaculture, seafood and marine nutraceuticals a.jeffs@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Assoc Prof Paul Kilmartin Wine aroma development, antioxidants and novel conducting polymer materials p.kilmartin@auckland.ac.nz
School of Medical Sciences Assoc Prof Geoffrey Krissansen Identification and application of food bioactives gw.krissansen@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Gerard Logan Vineyard management, fruit ripening, and grape colour and aroma development g.logan@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Dr Duncan McGillivray Biological membranes and membrane proteins d.mcgillivray@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Prof Laurence Melton Microstructure of plant foods, interactions of food macromolecules l.melton@auckland.ac.nz
Clinical Trials Research Unit Dr Cliona Ni Mhurchu Public health nutrition, dietary interventions c.nimhurchu@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof Mike Pearson Plant viruses and mycoviruses m.pearson@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Prof Conrad Perera Chemistry and technology of food processing, development of functional food ingredients c.perera@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Assoc Prof Joanna Putterill Molecuar biology of flowering time j.putterill@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Dr Siew-Young Quek Lipid research, New Food Product Development, Food Waste Utilisation, Biodegradable/ Nanocomposites Food Packaging sy.quek@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Howard Ross Bioinformatics h.ross@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Dr Viji Sarojini Plant diseases, antimicrobial peptides, dietary amino acids and proteins v.sarojini@auckland.ac.nz
School of Chemical Sciences Dr Bronwen Smith Microstructure of plant foods b.smith@auckland.ac.nz
School of Biological Sciences Dr Silas Villas-Bôas Microbial physiology with focus on metabolic mechanisms in living cells s.villas-boas@auckland.ac.nz
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering Prof Brent Young Food process simulation and control, and process development and design b.young@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Co-appointed staff


Research area Name Research interests Email
Breeding & Genomics Professor Andrew Allan (Director) Plant genomics and gene regulation jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Associate Professor David Greenwood Molecular mechanism of plant-pathogen interactions jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Dr Robin MacDiarmid Plant viruses, antiviral mechanisms of plants jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Professor Richard Newcomb Molecular basis of chemical sensing jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Breeding & Genomics Dr Robert Schaffer Fruit texture, ripening and cell wall, and role of ethylene jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Professor Max Suckling Chemical ecology of insects jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Associate Professor Matt Templeton Molecular basis of specificity of fungal plant pathogens jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Top

Staff at Plant & Food Research


Research area Name Research interests Email
Breeding & Genomics Dr Sean Bulley Vitamin C and primary metabolism in plants, plant allergens and plant biotechnology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Breeding & Genomics Dr Kevin Davies Biosynthesis and function of plant pigments jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Sustainable Production Dr Mark Goodwin Bee pollination jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Breeding & Genomics Dr Ken Marsh Genes controlling acidity and flavour in fruit crops jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Dr Kerry Everett Applied plant pathology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Dr Ashraf El-Sayed Chemical ecology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Bioprotection Dr Key Chung Park Electrophysiology jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Sustainable Production Dr Hamish Brown   jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Sustainable Production Dr Alla Seleznyova Architectural analysis of plant growth and functional-structural plant modelling jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Graham Fletcher High pressure processing of seafood and produce jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Ian Hallett Microscopy, plant microstructure, fruit texture/softening jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Sara Jaeger Sensory science, consumer psychology and behaviour, product innovation jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Jason Johnston Fruit ripening and stress response jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Andrew Kralicek Insect and humal olfaction and taste, membrane protein structure/function, cell-free protein synthesis jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr William Laing Vitamin C biosynthesis in plants, nutrigenomics and Crohn’s disease jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Marco Morgenstern Food structure and texture measurement jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Sustainable Production Dr David Pattemore Bee pollination jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Arjan Scheepens Functional foods, Neuro-active plant compounds, Drug discovery research jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Food Innovation Dr Allan Woolf Postharvest physiology, disinfection, disinfestation, HPP/UHP, avocado and olive oil jgs-auckland@plantandfood.co.nz
Top